Alchemy and Conquering Fear

JANUARY 2016 BLOG – only it’s MARCH

2015 started out with some unexpected events. Now I’ve made it through those as well as my taxes, and here’s the January blog, better late than never, on the Ides of March, along with some memorable photos from 2015. 

 

ALCHEMY

Growth: we take the knowledge we already have and morph it into a new thing, with the addition of some new elements we’ve learned on the way, and we make a new creation, based on the snapshot of who we are today and what is important to us. Each of us is a creator every day of our lives.

 

20/20 HINDSIGHT

Or shall we call it ‘Looking Back with Perspective’ to see patterns that we have been creating, both beneficial and potentially harmful. Awareness of patterns gives us the option to change them. The ability to Look Back with Perspective can be given to us by time, or by some other self-awakening experience, such as a spiritual experience like mediation or chanting, a daunting health challenge, or other experiences that shake up your life.

 

WHEN IS MY “LIFE” GOING TO BEGIN?

We don’t always realize that while we are making daily choices, we are creating our own lives, day by day. As they say, THIS IS IT. You’ve been living it. I remember clearly, when I was in my 20’s, the sensation of waiting for my life to begin, even as I energetically pursued a career in NY as a young actress. “Something” would happen that would boot me to a higher “plateau” where I could rest a while. Sorry. Ooops. Doesn’t happen that way. You have to make it happen.

 

WHERE AM I NOW?

I am in the middle of an alchemical process that started over a year ago. It’s a totally new chapter in my life. It’s been motivated by the passage of time, choices I’ve made or not, “apocalyptic” changes around me, people I’ve met, things I ‘ve learned and a new awareness inside myself that makes me feel different.

 

DIG IN, SLOWLY AND THOUGHTFULLY

As my last tarot said, stay put and focus on what is most meaningful. I begin a new music project, one that I thought I would research abroad, and I still want to, but first I begin at home, in the culturally rich San Francisco Bay Area. As always it is a project that looks musically outward from where we are, but this time it will also look very inward, to my own cultural life and deep origins.

 

CONQUERING FEAR

 

WHAT WILL SUSTAIN ME?

Spiritual practice as a Buddhist.

Companionship of other songwriters.

Appropriate working environment.

A happy home life.

The collaboration of my music director.

The things I’ve learned and the mentors who have inspired me.

Locally sourced instruction and more inspiration.

My larger circle of friends, family, colleagues, employers, audiences and community.

 

MY FIRST STEP

I’ve been taking Flamenco Dance class. The percussion is the feet. Got to understand the beat.  

Leave a Reply

