Bass players and the muddled state of my brain

Well, don’t be jealous, I didn’t get the oil change after all. Turns out I need a full service. Cha-ching.

I’m excited I’m going to be working with a new bass player on January 31. I’ve heard about Dan Feiszli for quite a while and probably have called him before, desperate, on other occasions, but this is the first time he was free to perform with us. Andrew Higgins, a super player, has been playing the run of Wicked, so that has taken him out of the running for gigs although he played so beautifully on our CD, and there are several other superb players we love to work with. Anyway, I was lucky to see Dan Feiszli play for the legendary Marilyn Maye when she was in town. He looks so young you want to ask, “does your mother know you’re out?” but is an amazing player, as well as a recording engineer, with all the creds. So that is going to be fun. Jason Martineau will be at the keyboard, bien sur, at the Bliss Bar in the Noe Valley, San Francisco.

By the way, in the next life I am going to either be born as a tenor or a bass player. You are IN DEMAND. And I never met a bass player I didn’t like as a person. They are always so down to earth and solid, which is what their playing has to be to be successful. Now tenors are another story, but don’t get me started on that.

When I was younger I had the notion that someday instrumentalists would hire me to sing with their bands. This is 99.9% improbable. I have been hired on a few occasions to sing specialty material, like Italian songs. But mostly it is the singer who hires (and pays) the instrumentalists. I had a musician and music teacher for a father (and a great one he was, too) and he never told me this. Nor did he force me to practice the piano. Trust me, my career would be different today if I played the piano. In terms of logistics and economics. But there is no way to measure the immense inspiration (and instruction) I have received from working with people like Dr. Jason Martineau, so I guess in the end, your life is your life. Right?

So my dear friend Nancy Tierney tells me that people want to share in my “journey,” (God, I hate that word now, never use that word on stage, ok? promise you will never tell someone you are going to take them on a musical journey) and  know what’s going on inside my mind. While I think that people are too busy to even have time to care about my “journey.” To me it seems that I spend so much of my life writing emails, entering data, keeping track, researching and getting lost in loops and loops of research that ends with me walking into the kitchen and hitting the button on the Gaggia for yet another espresso. Yet, oddly, I have recently received calls from some very established musicians asking me MY advice about things. This flips me out. Why would anyone care to know about the muddled state of my brain and how I manage to pull off about a tenth of what I WANT to pull off?

So I am going to put the question out there: What do people want to know? what is of interest? However, I have just begun this and have very few subscribers, so not sure how the poll is going to turn out.

Onward!

Leave a Reply

